Dr. Malcolm MacCoss

Dr. Malcolm MacCoss has over 30 years of medicinal chemistry experience. He began his pharma career at Merck and was sequentially promoted to Vice President of Basic Chemistry and Drug Discovery Sciences, and the Deputy Site-Head of the Rahway Site; he was also Chairman of the Merck World-Wide Chemistry Council. During his time as Head of the Merck Rahway Chemistry Department, the Department produced approximately 100 preclinical drug candidates. Dr. MacCoss led a medicinal chemistry group that synthesized the first oral Substance P antagonist, Emend™ (aprepitant), for the treatment of chemotherapy induced nausea and vomiting, for which he was awarded the Thomas Edison Award in 2004, along with the other inventors. His group also prepared the novel IV prodrug of Emend (Ivemend™, fosaprepitant). In 2007, Dr. MacCoss was awarded a second Thomas Edison Award, for his contributions to the inventorship of Januvia™ (sitagliptin phosphate), the first approved DPP-IV inhibitor for the treatment of type 2 diabetes. In March, 2008 Dr. MacCoss retired from Merck and spent a short time as a private consultant.

In July, 2008 he was appointed Group Vice President for Chemical Research at the Schering-Plough Research Institute. In this role, he provided strategic leadership to the Chemistry Research group globally and was the Head of Chemistry at the Schering-Plough, Kenilworth, NJ site. In addition, he chaired the newly created Schering-Plough Global Chemistry Council, a forum for formulating global chemistry strategies. Dr MacCoss consults for clients around the world, including UCB.  He also sits on the Scientific Advisory Board of Gilead Sciences and ChemPartner. From February, 2010 to June 2015, he sat on the Board of Directors of Idera Pharmaceuticals and served as the Chairman of their Compensation Committee.

In March 2008, Dr. MacCoss was awarded the NJ American Chemical Society Award for Creativity in Molecular Design and Synthesis; he was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2008.  Dr MacCoss was admitted to the ACS Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame in 2009 and in 2010 he was awarded the ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry National Award.  In October, 2013, Dr. MacCoss was appointed Visiting Professor of Chemistry for Medicine at The University of Oxford, Oxford, UK.

Read more
Scientific Advisor